DMNH 042 - LEVI Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure
Planned
Key facts
- Closing date
- Not stated by the buyer
- Buyer's estimated value
- £108,000,000 (excl. VAT) The buyer's own estimate, not income to you.
- Contract period
- 16 Nov 2027 to 15 Nov 2042
- Procedure
- Not stated
- Notice type
- Preliminary market engagement notice (UK2)
Decision brief
Taken from the buyer's published notice (shown as written, shortened where long). Tenderpatch has not added to or interpreted it. Always read the official documents before bidding.
- How bids will be scored
- Not stated in the notice.
- Conditions of participation (what you must show)
- None published in the notice. They may be in the tender documents.
- Contract length and extensions
- 16 Nov 2027 to 15 Nov 2042.
- How to submit
- Not stated in the notice.
- Tender documents
- No document links in the notice. Use the official notice link.
New to public tenders? Plain-English guide to this page
- Framework
- An agreement that sets terms for work the buyer may order later, often from several suppliers. The value shown usually covers the whole agreement, not one job.
- Open for bids / closing date
- You must submit by the closing date and time, normally through the buyer's own online portal. Late bids are normally refused.
- Clarification questions
- A deadline for asking the buyer questions about the tender. It is earlier than the closing date.
- Conditions of participation
- What the buyer asks suppliers to show before they can be considered, such as experience, insurance or accreditations.
- Bids are scored on
- How the buyer will compare bids, usually a split between price and quality. A 60/40 split in favour of quality means the cheapest bid will not necessarily win.
- Lots
- A tender can be split into parts. You can often bid for only the lots that suit you.
- Area (ITL)
- The buyer names an official statistical area for where the work is, not a street address. Check the tender documents for the actual sites.
- UK4 and other notice codes
- Official codes for the type of notice. A "tender notice" means bids are being invited.
General explanations written by Tenderpatch, not part of this notice.
Description
Shropshire Council is undertaking a secondary preliminary market engagement (PME) exercise in advance of a planned procurement for the delivery of publicly accessible electric vehicle charging infrastructure (EVCI) across Shropshire.
Since undertaking its initial market engagement exercise, the Council has refined its proposed delivery model, concession structure, funding assumptions and site identification methodology. This secondary PME is intended to test these emerging proposals with the market and ensure that the eventual procurement is structured to maximise competition, attract investment and deliver a sustainable, equitable public charging network across Shropshire.
The Council intends to procure a concession contract for the supply, installation, connection, operation and maintenance of electric vehicle charging infrastructure funded through the Department for Transport's Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (LEVI) Fund.
This secondary PME is being conducted in accordance with the market engagement provisions of the Procurement Act 2023 and is intended solely to inform the design and conduct of a future procurement. Participation in this engagement exercise will not confer any advantage or disadvantage in any subsequent procurement process.
The Council currently anticipates commencing a formal procurement process during 2026, with contract award anticipated in 2027.
Background
Shropshire currently has approximately 546 public charge points. The Council has secured £2,006,000 of LEVI funding and expects to facilitate the deployment of over 550 additional charge points across the county.
The programme is intended to improve access to EV charging, particularly for residents without access to off-street parking, and support the transition to electric vehicles across both urban and rural communities.
Proposed Opportunity
The Council is considering appointing a charge point operator under a concession contract to:
Design, install, connect and operate EV charge points;
Maintain and manage the charging network;
Invest alongside the Council's LEVI funding;
Deliver charging infrastructure on-street and on Council-owned land.
The network is expected to comprise primarily 7kW charge points, supplemented by 22kW fast chargers and a limited number of rapid chargers where site conditions and network capacity permit.
The Council is currently proposing a concession term of 15 years, with an option to extend by two years.
The Council's current expectation is that the appointed concessionaire will be responsible for:
Detailed design and delivery of the charging network;
Supply, installation and commissioning of charging infrastructure;
Distribution network connections;
Operation, maintenance and management of the charging network;
Customer services and payment systems;
Asset lifecycle management and replacement;
Reporting and performance monitoring requirements.
The anticipated charging mix is expected to include:
Primarily 7kW standard charging infrastructure;
22kW fast charging infrastructure where site and network conditions permit;
A limited number of rapid charging installations of 50kW or greater where commercially and technically viable.
Charging infrastructure is expected to be located principally on-street and on Council-owned land.
Further information regarding the proposed site portfolio and deployment expectations will be made available at procurement stage.
Use of Core Supplier Information
Suppliers should note that any future procurement undertaken under the Procurement Act 2023 is expected to require suppliers to be registered on the Central Digital Platform (Find a Tender) and to maintain up-to-date Core Supplier Information in accordance with Regulation 6 of the Procurement Regulations 2024.
Areas for Market Feedback
The Council particularly welcomes feedback regarding:
Traffic Regulation Orders (TROs) and their management
Site assessment and selection
Site design and stakeholder engagement
Communications and customer engagement Participation
Important Information
This notice:
Does not constitute a call for competition;
Does not commence a procurement procedure;
Does not constitute any commitment by the Council to procure the services described;
Is issued solely for market engagement and information gathering purposes.
Any future procurement opportunity will be advertised separately in accordance with applicable procurement legislation and published via the Central Digital Platform (Find a Tender).