Pathology Managed Equipment Service (MES) – South 4 Pathology Network
Planned
Key facts
- Closing date
- Not stated by the buyer
- Buyer's estimated value
- £150,000,000 (excl. VAT) The buyer's own estimate, not income to you.
- Contract period
- 31 May 2029 to 31 May 2036
- Procedure
- Not stated
- Notice type
- Preliminary market engagement notice (UK2)
- Suitable for SMEs (per buyer)
- Yes
Decision brief
Taken from the buyer's published notice (shown as written, shortened where long). Tenderpatch has not added to or interpreted it. Always read the official documents before bidding.
- How bids will be scored
- Not stated in the notice.
- Conditions of participation (what you must show)
- None published in the notice. They may be in the tender documents.
- Contract length and extensions
- 31 May 2029 to 31 May 2036.
- How to submit
- Not stated in the notice.
- Tender documents
- No document links in the notice. Use the official notice link.
New to public tenders? Plain-English guide to this page
- Framework
- An agreement that sets terms for work the buyer may order later, often from several suppliers. The value shown usually covers the whole agreement, not one job.
- Open for bids / closing date
- You must submit by the closing date and time, normally through the buyer's own online portal. Late bids are normally refused.
- Clarification questions
- A deadline for asking the buyer questions about the tender. It is earlier than the closing date.
- Conditions of participation
- What the buyer asks suppliers to show before they can be considered, such as experience, insurance or accreditations.
- Bids are scored on
- How the buyer will compare bids, usually a split between price and quality. A 60/40 split in favour of quality means the cheapest bid will not necessarily win.
- Lots
- A tender can be split into parts. You can often bid for only the lots that suit you.
- Area (ITL)
- The buyer names an official statistical area for where the work is, not a street address. Check the tender documents for the actual sites.
- UK4 and other notice codes
- Official codes for the type of notice. A "tender notice" means bids are being invited.
General explanations written by Tenderpatch, not part of this notice.
Description
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust is undertaking this procurement in its
own name and on behalf of the other participating trusts within the South 4 Pathology
Network, namely Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust, Milton Keynes University
Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and Great Western Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.
The Authority intends to procure a Pathology Managed Equipment Service (MES) to support high-quality, resilient and standardised pathology services across participating sites. The service is expected to cover the provision, installation, commissioning and lifecycle management of pathology laboratory equipment, together with maintenance, servicing, repair, upgrades, replacement planning, training and performance support. The scope of testing is expected to focus primarily on blood sciences and related hospital laboratory services, including biochemistry, haematology, coagulation, serology, immunology, automation and pre-pre-analytics such as specimen tracking and auto receipting. The service model is expected to include equipment supply through capital and/or leased models, asset management, consumables and reagents where required, inventory and logistics management, interoperability with existing and future LIMS, digital enablement, automation, data and reporting capability, technical support, training and continuous service improvement.
The procurement project is aligned to NHS pathology transformation priorities. It is also expected to
contribute to sustainability and social value objectives. The service will be delivered
across multiple NHS sites within the South 4 Pathology Network geography, with flexibility for future changes to network configuration. The Authority anticipates awarding either a single supplier or multi-lot contract, with the final structure and contract term to reflect equipment lifecycle and long-term service delivery requirements. The information provided is indicative only and does not constitute a call for competition or commitment to procure. This Pre Market Engagement notice is issued in accordance with the requirements of the Procurement Act
2023.