Skip to content
Tenderpatch
This is an early-stage notice (pipeline, market engagement or planned procurement). It is not yet open for bids. Find open tenders

Conductive Energy Devices (CED)

Home Office

Planned

Key facts

Closing date
Not stated by the buyer
Buyer's estimated value
£146,000,000 (excl. VAT) The buyer's own estimate, not income to you. For a framework this usually covers the whole agreement, not a single contract.
Contract period
26 Feb 2027 to 25 Feb 2031
Procedure
Not stated
Notice type
Preliminary market engagement notice (UK2)
Arrangement
Framework agreement

Decision brief

Taken from the buyer's published notice (shown as written, shortened where long). Tenderpatch has not added to or interpreted it. Always read the official documents before bidding.

How bids will be scored
Not stated in the notice.
Conditions of participation (what you must show)
None published in the notice. They may be in the tender documents.
Contract length and extensions
26 Feb 2027 to 25 Feb 2031.
How to submit
Not stated in the notice.
Tender documents
No document links in the notice. Use the official notice link.
New to public tenders? Plain-English guide to this page
Framework
An agreement that sets terms for work the buyer may order later, often from several suppliers. The value shown usually covers the whole agreement, not one job.
Open for bids / closing date
You must submit by the closing date and time, normally through the buyer's own online portal. Late bids are normally refused.
Clarification questions
A deadline for asking the buyer questions about the tender. It is earlier than the closing date.
Conditions of participation
What the buyer asks suppliers to show before they can be considered, such as experience, insurance or accreditations.
Bids are scored on
How the buyer will compare bids, usually a split between price and quality. A 60/40 split in favour of quality means the cheapest bid will not necessarily win.
Lots
A tender can be split into parts. You can often bid for only the lots that suit you.
Area (ITL)
The buyer names an official statistical area for where the work is, not a street address. Check the tender documents for the actual sites.
UK4 and other notice codes
Official codes for the type of notice. A "tender notice" means bids are being invited.

General explanations written by Tenderpatch, not part of this notice.

Description

The Home Office, working with the National Police Chiefs’ Council Less Lethal Weapons function, is undertaking market engagement regarding the potential future procurement of Conducted Energy Devices (CEDs) and associated equipment, consumables and support services for UK policing. The potential requirement covers overt and covert CED capability and may include complete CED systems and/or individual component parts. Goods may include CED devices, holders and carriage systems, operational and training cartridges, batteries and other power components, associated software and secure data-management capability, training equipment and other ancillary equipment required to provide an operational CED capability. Associated services may include maintenance and through-life support, software and firmware support and updates, provision of technical and safety documentation, warranty and replacement support, and assistance with the development of operational procedures, training manuals and user manuals. The potential requirement may also include inert training devices and training cartridges suitable for scenario-based training. Solutions would be required to be suitable for use within UK policing and capable of delivery to the UK. The Authority is interested in existing, emerging and alternative CED technologies, including solutions suitable for routine overt operational policing and solutions or adaptations supporting discreet carriage and deployment. Indicative quantity: Historic overt CED demand across forces was 23,322 devices in 2024/25 and 31,628 devices in 2025/26. These figures are provided as an indication of historic demand only and should not be interpreted as a commitment or guaranteed future volume. The RFI does not currently provide a confirmed quantity for any future procurement or for covert CED demand.